Ten to Forever

When the couple hugged me towards the end of the reception and told me the dresses were “super ganda!”, I almost teared up. After their beautiful wedding, it was all I needed as a happy ending to the project we’ve been planning since 2014.

mac vea collage.jpg

Wonderful moments of the wedding captured in pixels!

The wedding was held in Fernbrook Gardens, Alabang. The chapel looked like it was pulled out of a dream: crystals, roses, ebony details–it was like a paradise for me. I was clearly so in love with their (needless to say) very bold motiff of black and red! Why? They’re my absolute favorite colors. Filipino weddings usually steer away from darker colors such as those because of superstitions. But in this day and age (and really, now?) wedding colors are just tiny little footnotes in a marriage of two people choosing to love each other each day.

 

My dress was once again (like my other dresses made especially for a specific event), finished at the same day of the wedding. Funny phenomenon. But somehow, I still manage to look presentable, despite the lack of sleep thereof. (Did I ever have enough sleep since college? I don’t remember, hah.)

IMG_20160130_161948

Precious little Freedom!

And oh, hey! I am absolutely speechless when I was tagged in this drawing during my birthday. This is illustrated as a gift by one of my favorite girlfriends in the interstellar . Seriously, nothing’s better than receiving art on your birthday.
My dress was made of a bustier corset and lots and lots and lots of American black and red tulle. Forty yards in total. This wedding will definitely be one of the most memorable ones I’d ever do in my life, so I made sure my dress will be special for it, too. Dresses are my entire life, after all.

 

FB_IMG_1457423002868

Illustration by Alexis Matic

For the reception, we were served a hearty dinner in the same venue which I’ve enjoyed with my friends from college. Taking this photobooth pic with them, I look back at the times when our only tribulations in life were simply exams, plates and deadlines. Now, two members of the usual gang drinking the school nights away are starting a new chapter of their lives in the altar. Surreal as it is, I realized there will be less and less of those nights as if it wasn’t scarce enough after we’ve all graduated. I mean…this could be the last time I’d see them, huh?

 

12662532_10154029061462384_4950796141001961567_n (1)

Bittersweet photobooth!

Towards the end of the wedding, I was handed a paper bag containing something I didn’t expect–a Lokai bracelet! The Bride already mentioned this ages ago because she needed the wrist measurements of her girls, but I didn’t expect I will be given one, too. I had no idea  that Lokai bracelets are the thing lately in the travel world. I just knew it had materials from Mt. Everest and the Dead Sea – which was super cool by the way. The couple themselves are free-spirited travelers, so this had a lot of meaning to them. And to be given such a thoughtful gift was very moving. Now, whenever it’s around my wrist (which is pretty much everyday) I am reminded of its wonderful message: Balance.

IMG_20160130_213227

A bracelet brand that donates to causes, Lokai. What a meaningful wedding favor.

 

THIS LINKS TO THE SDE VIDEO

Wedding Production Credits:
Coordinator: Kathy Amora Catindig of Ecstatic Engagements : Event Coordination Services
Ceremony: Notre Dame De Vie Chapel, Fernbrook Gardens
Reception: Palazzo Verde
Caterer: Hizon’s Catering
Photographer: Anne Naig of Ian Celis Productions
Videographer: Treehouse Story
Florist: WeddingsNMotifs
HMUA: Toni Aviles The Make-up Artist
Grooming: The Union Station Barbershop (The Spoiled Groom)
Event Stylist: Chasing Dreams Event
Lights and Sounds: ALJOE MIX lights and sounds
The Singing Host: Juizy – Event HOST and Singer
Preparation Venue: The Bellevue Manila
Boutonnieres and Pillows: {etc} Handmade Goodness
Wedding Cake: TopCakes
Cake Topper: Catherine Marie Tanson
Wedding Gown: Mel Orlina Couture
Entourage Dress: Janella Ibay Designs
Groom’s Suit: Gardini Fashion Center
Wedding Rings: J’s Diamond Jewellery
Wedding Invitation: Invitation Designs By Kenneth Uy
Wedding Favors: Rachebeli Wines
Mac & Vea Infinity Logo: Clariza Larino
Photobooth: Contact Live Photography
Bride’s shoes: Julian Hakes
Leave a Reply

